About our Community

About our Community Main Image

The District of Mount Waverley is a vibrant and diverse one in Melbourne’s east, and half of its residents were born overseas or have parents who were born overseas.  This area is nicknamed “the Centre of the Universe” (Chinese: “宇宙中心”) for its bustling shopping strips and ample community organisations.

Matt acknowledges our community is situated on the lands of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin nation, and pays tribute to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and gives respect to Elders past, present and emerging.

At the November 2022 state election, the Mount Waverley district will be abolished. These boundary changes mean households to the west of Blackburn Road will be included in the new Ashwood District. This includes the suburbs of:

  • Ashburton
  • Ashwood
  • Burwood
  • Burwood East
  • Chadstone
  • Glen Iris
  • Mount Waverley

Following changes unveiled by the Electoral Boundaries Commission, the Mount Waverley District will be abolished in the lead up to the state election, scheduled for November 2022. 

Households to the east of Blackburn Road will be absorbed into the new Glen Waverley District, and households to the west will be in the Ashwood District.

If you would like to find out what electorate you are in please use the following mapping tool: